Milk derivatives: casein, whey (all forms), curds, lactoalbumin, lactoferrin, lactoglobulin, lactose, lactulose, rennet, diacetyl (1,2)
Potential foods with milk: Margarine, tuna fish (some brands may include casein), non-dairy milk products manufactured in the same facility as milk, foods cooked with butter at restaurants, medications that have milk protein (2)
Cream of tartar does not contain milk
Egg Products: egg, eggnog, mayonnaise, meringue, pasta, baked goods, marshmallows, marzipan, ice cream, meatloaf or meatballs, simplesse
Lecithin, nougat, and many fat-replacers may contain egg. Some pasta can also contain egg. Medications and immunizations may contain egg. Check with the manufacturer, doctor, or pharmacist to be sure.
When dining out, make sure to ask how food are prepared. Many vegetarian food products may contain peanuts as well, so read labels carefully. (4)
Products with sunflower seeds and soy nuts are often produced in facilities that process nuts. Be sure to check with the manufacturer before consuming. (1,4)
Tree nut ingredients or products: nut milk, marzipan/almond paste, nut extract, nut oil, pesto (this usually contains pine nuts or walnuts), praline,
Learn more about soy.
Wheat products: wheat-based flours, bread crumbs, breaded foods, wheat-based cereals, bulgur, durum flour, farina, fu, matzo, pasta, seitan, tabbouleh, einkorn, emmer, freekeh, matzoh, kamut, semolina, spelt, triticale, triticum, soy sauce. Wheat can also be found in Play-doh, modeling clay, some finger paints, and glue.
Wheat can be hiding in many different food products, especially in the form of gluten, so make sure to look at ingredient lists.
Even though buckwheat has wheat in its name, it doesn’t contain any wheat!
These may be hiding in dishes, always ask if’s shellfish-free
*Some people are only allergic to crustacea, but your doctor will likely advise you to avoid both crustacea and mollusks.
This is not a complete list since there are over 20,000 different types of fish. (6)
Fish products: fish oil, fish gelatin, fish sauce, surimi (7)
Beware of fish hiding in dressings and sauces. Always check the ingredient label. Ask about preparation methods at restaurants to avoid cross-contact.