Home children's health Common Food Allergens in Children

Common Food Allergens in Children

5
0
SHARE
Allergen Ingredients to Avoid Milk

Milk products: milk, cheese, yogurt, cream (half & half), sour cream, cottage cheese, cream cheese, butter, ghee, nougat, custard, paneer, chocolate, pudding (1,2)

Milk derivatives: casein, whey (all forms), curds, lactoalbumin, lactoferrin, lactoglobulin, lactose, lactulose, rennet, diacetyl (1,2)

Potential foods with milk: Margarine, tuna fish (some brands may include casein), non-dairy milk products manufactured in the same facility as milk, foods cooked with butter at restaurants, medications that have milk protein (2)
Cream of tartar does not contain milk

Eggs

egg allergy

Egg Proteins: albumin, vitellin, globulin, livetin, lysozyme, surimi, ingredients starting with “ovo” or “ova” such as ovoglobulin, ovovitellin, etc. (“ovo” means egg) (3)

Egg Products: egg, eggnog, mayonnaise, meringue, pasta, baked goods, marshmallows, marzipan, ice cream, meatloaf or meatballs, simplesse

Lecithin, nougat, and many fat-replacers may contain egg. Some pasta can also contain egg. Medications and immunizations may contain egg. Check with the manufacturer, doctor, or pharmacist to be sure.

Peanuts

peanut allergy

Peanuts, peanut flour, peanut butter, arachis oil (peanut oil), artificial nuts, cold-pressed, expeller-pressed, or extruded peanut oil, earth nuts, ground nuts, hydrolyzed peanut protein, goobers, hypogaeic acid, mandelonas, lupine/lupines albus, artificial flavoring, candy, crumb toppings, beer nuts

When dining out, make sure to ask how food are prepared. Many vegetarian food products may contain peanuts as well, so read labels carefully. (4)

Products with sunflower seeds and soy nuts are often produced in facilities that process nuts. Be sure to check with the manufacturer before consuming. (1,4)

Tree Nuts

tree nut allergy

Tree nuts: Walnuts, almonds, pecans, pistachios, hazelnuts, cashews, Brazil nuts, pine nuts, coconut (some children are okay eating this), beechnut, butternut, chestnut, Gingko nut, lychee nut, macadamia nut

Tree nut ingredients or products: nut milk, marzipan/almond paste, nut extract, nut oil, pesto (this usually contains pine nuts or walnuts), praline,

Soy

soy allergy

Soy products: Any ingredient with the word soy, soy lecithin, edamame, kinnoko flour, kyodufo, miso, natto, okara, shoyu sauce, soya, soy protein, supro soy protein, tamari, tempeh, teriyaki sauce, textured vegetable protein (TVP), tofu, yaki-dofu (grilled tofu), yuba, soy ice cream, soy yogurt. Also watch for cold-pressed, expeller-pressed, or extruded soybean oils. Highly-refined varieties are probably okay. Asian food items are at high risk for cross-contact. (5)

Learn more about soy.

Wheat

wheat allergy

Wheat ingredients: bran, cereal extract, germ, gluten, malt, vital gluten, and anything with the word wheat in it.

Wheat products: wheat-based flours, bread crumbs, breaded foods, wheat-based cereals, bulgur, durum flour, farina, fu, matzo, pasta, seitan, tabbouleh, einkorn, emmer, freekeh, matzoh, kamut, semolina, spelt, triticale, triticum, soy sauce. Wheat can also be found in Play-doh, modeling clay, some finger paints, and glue.

Wheat can be hiding in many different food products, especially in the form of gluten, so make sure to look at ingredient lists.

Even though buckwheat has wheat in its name, it doesn’t contain any wheat!

Shellfish

shellfish allergy

*Crustacea and mollusks: Shrimp, crab, lobster, clams, muscles, scallops, oysters, crawfish, prawn, octopus, sea urchin, snails, squid, abalone

These may be hiding in dishes, always ask if’s shellfish-free

*Some people are only allergic to crustacea, but your doctor will likely advise you to avoid both crustacea and mollusks.

Fish

canned fish drawing

Common fish: tuna, salmon, cod, Mahi mahi, anchovies, bass, catfish, flounder, grouper, haddock, halibut, herring, sole, snapper, swordfish, tilapia, trout.

This is not a complete list since there are over 20,000 different types of fish. (6)

Fish products: fish oil, fish gelatin, fish sauce, surimi (7)
Beware of fish hiding in dressings and sauces. Always check the ingredient label. Ask about preparation methods at restaurants to avoid cross-contact.

Source link

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

eighteen − 15 =